top of page
Robert Lantos

In 1972, when he was still a student at McGill University, Robert Lantos co-founded the company that grew into Alliance Communications Corporation, which for 25 years was Canada’s largest film and television production / distribution company and a leading specialty broadcaster.  He was Alliance’s Chairman and CEO until he sold his controlling interest in 1998, following which he founded Serendipity Point Films.

Four of his films  – The Sweet Hereafter, Being Julia, Eastern Promises and Barney’s Version –  have received Academy Award Nominations, while Sunshine and Eastern Promises were nominated for the Golden Globe for Best Picture and Being Julia and Barney’s Version each won Golden Globes for Best Actress and Best Actor.  Eight of his productions have been in the Official Cannes Selection, where The Sweet Hereafter won the Grand Prix and the International Critics Prize, Crash won a Special Jury Prize and Adoration won the Ecumenical Prize. Two of his films have won the Silver Bear at the Berlin Film Festival: eXistenZ and Museo. Barney’s Version and Remember were both in the official competition at the Venice Film Festival, where Barney’s Version won the Audience Award. Mr. Lantos has won the Canadian Screen Award for Best Picture with Black Robe, The Sweet Hereafter, Sunshine and Ararat.  


Robert Lantos
Dustin Hoffman, Paul Giamatti & Robert Lantos

In the 1980s and 90s Mr. Lantos was responsible for numerous long running TV series such as Night Heat (the first Canadian drama series on a U.S. network), Bordertown, Counterstrike, Due South, and North of 60.  Collectively, these series have won the Gemini Award for Best Television Drama ten times.  His made-for-television movies and mini-series include Sword of Gideon (HBO), Shot Through The Heart (HBO), The Hunchback, (TNT) Woman on the Run (NBC) and Family of Strangers (CBS).

Mr. Lantos is a member of the Order of Canada, is a recipient of the Royal Canadian Academy of the Arts Award, The Toronto Arts Award and has received the Academy of Canadian Film and Television’s Award for “Outstanding Contribution to the Business of Filmmaking”.  He is an inductee in the Canadian Film and Television Hall of Fame.  He is a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, British Academy of Film and Television Arts, European Film Academy and holds honorary doctorates from both McGill University and Haifa University


bottom of page